Connect with us

New Music


Billy F Gibbons

Image by Bain Clausen

Hardware, the widely anticipated third solo album from ZZ Top front man Billy F Gibbons hits this week with official release on Friday, June 4.

The album, recorded during the heat of last summer in California’s high desert near Joshua Tree, includes a total of 12 tracks, 11 of which were written by Billy and collaborators for the album plus ‘Hey Baby, Que Paso,’ the Texas Tornados classic. The album’s release has been preceded by three videos to date including ‘My Lucky Number,’ ‘Desert High’ and ‘West Coast Junkie.’ A fourth video, ‘She’s On Fire,’ will be out June 10; all were shot on location by Texas filmmaker Harry Reese while the album was in production.

Order Hardware here: or buy in stores!

Concord Records is hosting a Global Virtual Listening Party on Tuesday, June 8 to mark the release of the album. It will afford participants across the planet an opportunity to stream Hardware and chat live with Billy as well as with Matt Sorum and Austin Hanks, his Hardware bandmates.  The event launches at 12 Noon/Pacific, 3 PM/Eastern (Wednesday 9TH June 5:00AM AEST AUSTRALIA).

Link to registerGlobal Virtual Listening Party

Billy Gibbons commented, “It’s gonna be a good time and we’re looking forward to checking out the grooves with everybody in the world, known or otherwise, who wants to join us.  We’re really delighted with the way it turned out, not to mention that we managed to avoid rattlesnake bites and cactus punctures over the course of the recording process.”

Hardware follows The Big Bad Blues and Perfectamundo in Billy Gibbons’ solo canon. The album was produced by Gibbons along with Matt Sorum and Mike Florentino with engineer Chad Shlosser providing additional production.

Watch ‘My Lucky Card’:

Sorum, veteran of Guns ‘N’ Roses, Velvet Revolver and The Cult, also serves as Hardware’s drummer and was joined in the album’s core band by guitarist Austin Hanks.  The same Gibbons-Sorum-Hanks aggregation recorded The Big Bad Blues, Billy’s previous solo effort for Concord and winner of a Blues Foundation’s Blues Music Award.   The new album’s title is a tribute to the late Joe Hardy, the beloved recording engineer who worked with Gibbons and ZZ Top on projects dating back to the mid-1980s.

Watch: ‘Desert High’:

Hardware track listing

  • My Lucky Card
  • She’s On Fire
  • More-More-More
  • Shuffle, Step & Slide
  • Vagabond Man
  • Spanish Fly
  • West Coast Junkie
  • Stackin’ Bones (featuring Larkin Poe)
  • I Was A Highway
  • S-G-L-M-B-B-R
  • Hey Baby, Que Paso
  • Desert High