Connect with us

New Music


Today, indie pop trailblazers The Naked and Famous announce their forthcoming album Recover will be released on Friday May 8th – Pre Order Album Here. 

The announcement comes a week before the duo arrive in Australia for the Wine Machine Festival, and is accompanied by a new track ‘Come As You Are’, recognizing the importance of inclusivity in this day and age.

The lyrics – “so easy to love, so come as you are, there’s no limit to the ways that I adore, just as you are”- represent the importance of having unconditional love and acceptance for people from all walks of life.

One half of the duo, Alisa Xayalith, said “it started out as a song about how everyone comes into a new relationship with history and baggage, and how you shouldn’t let that stop you from making a connection, but ultimately it’s about accepting people for who they really are, and recognizing that everyone deserves love.” Bandmate Thom Powers adds, “We want our fans to know how important inclusivity is to us, Whether you’re in the LGBTQ community or an immigrant or in any other marginalized group, this is a safe space for you.”

The song joins previous album cuts “Sunseeker”, which was inspired by a Xayalith’s dog and “Bury Us” which NYLON described as a “perfect dancefloor track that’ll instantly transport you to infectious pop bliss, all the while telling the story of embracing unexpected love.”

The Naked and Famous’ forthcoming album is an autobiographical record rooted in the human spirit. Each song is carefully crafted with an important messages ranging from the sentiment of survival (‘Death’), touching on topics of self-identity (‘Well-Rehearsed’), resilience (‘Recover’), mortality (‘(An)Aesthetic’ written by Thom about his near death experience with blood poisoning) and the things that affect our lives in ways we never anticipated (‘Sunseeker’). 

Recover Tracklisting:
1. Recover
2. Sunseeker
3. Bury Us
4. Easy
5. Come as you Are
6. Everybody Knows
7. Echoes in the Dark
8. Well-Rehearsed
9. Monument
10. Death
11. Count on You
12. Muscle Memory
13. The Sound of My Voice
14. (An)aesthetic 
15. Coming Back to Me

The Naked and Famous return to Australia for the annual Wine Machine Festival joining other acts such as Young Franco, Alice Ivy and Northeast Party House.

Wine Machine Festival Dates
Tickets Here

Sat March 7 – Huon Valley TAS

Sat March 14 – Hunter Valley, NSW

Sat March 21 – Canberra, ACT 

Sat March 28 – Yarra Valley, VIC 

Sat April 4 – Swan Valley WA

Originally from Auckland, The Naked and Famous formed soon after Xayalith (the daughter of Laotian refugees) crossed paths with Powers while the two were attending music college. The band put out the EPs ‘This Machine’ and ‘No Light’ in 2008, then made their full-length debut with ‘Passive Me • Aggressive You’ — a 2010 release featuring their platinum-selling breakthrough hit “Young Blood.” As the album climbed the Billboard 200 chart and earned countless accolades (including seven prizes at the New Zealand Music Awards), the band toured across the globe.

They finally landed in L.A., living together in Laurel Canyon. Arriving on New Year’s Day in 2013, The Nakedand Famous’ sophomore album ‘In Rolling Waves’ cracked the top 50 on the Billboard 200, boosted by hit singles like “Hearts Like Ours.” Their third LP, their most complex and compelling work to date, ‘Simple Forms’ was released in 2016.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The Naked And The Famous The Naked And The Famous


New Music